Prizes: 2023 EPS condensed Matter Division Europhysics Prize winner

[ All news ] [ Previous ] [ Next ]


The Condensed Matter Division of the European Physical Society (EPS CMD) is proud to announce the award of the 2023 EPS Europhysics Prize to: Professor Claudia Felser and Professor B. Andrei Bernevig “for seminal contributions to the classification, prediction, and discovery of novel topological quantum materials”.

Prof. Claudia Felser is a director at the Max Planck Institute for Chemical Physics of Solids in Germany, Prof. B. Andrei Bernevig is a Professor of Physics at Princeton University in the United States and Visiting Ikerbasque Professor at Donostia International Physics Center in Spain.
The Prize will be presented on Wednesday 6th September 2023, during the Awards Session of the 30th General Conference of the EPS Condensed Matter Division (CMD30), to be held in Milan (joint organization with FisMat in Italy). This prize has been awarded since 1975 (this is the 40th edition) and is one of Europe’s most prestigious prizes in the field of condensed matter physics. It is given in recognition of a prominent and well-identifiable discovery, breakthrough, or contribution to condensed matter physics, by one or more individuals, contribution that, in the opinion of the selection committee, represents scientific excellence. The award recognises research for which a significant portion of the work was carried out in Europe. A summary of all the prize editions can be found here. We thank the sponsors of the EPS Europhysics Prize: EPL and CECOM.

The long citation can be found here.

[ All news ]