Steering Committee (SC)

Steering Committee (SC)

The steering committee of the European School on Magnetism is a small group of persons committed to dedicate time to maintain the School on track. It is responsible for key actions, as described in the School statutes and detailed below.

  • Determine sites for hosting the School. The committee stimulates members of their community (topical or geographical) to propose hosting places meeting the requirements of the School, with constraints in terms of logistics and budget. The most convincing proposals are gathered and discussed in a face-to-face meeting. This is based on a written or slide-show document from each proposer, addressing the issues mentioned by the steering committee (access, local facilities, budget).
  • Determine topics and list of lectures for future Schools. This task benefits from a feedback of the Scientific Advisory Committee.
  • Ascribes lecturers to each topic, based on the input of the Scientific Advisory Committee.
  • Selects the students offered to attend the School, out of the requests for participation. This task becomes increasingly important due to the rising number of requests (close to three for one position). The local organizer of the School is invited to take part in the process.
  • Monitors the budget, both for individual schools in coordination with the local organizers, and globally in relation with JEMS or a European magnetism association.
  • Communicates with the same objectives as the School : education, careers, networking. This goes in particular through the magnetism portal and newsletter MAGNETISM.eu. This includes spreading information about the School, and in the field of magnetism : maintaining an agenda of event, job offers, links, news of general significance, relation with JEMS.
  • Structure of ESM. The steering committee proposes and decides possible changes about the organization of the School and the structure of its committees.


Bertrand DUPÉ, General Chair
Fonds de la Recherche Scientifique (FRS-FNRS), Belgium
University of Liège, Belgium

Olivier FRUCHART, Past Chair
Spintec (CNRS - CEA - Univ. Grenoble Alpes), Grenoble, France

University of Twente, Netherlands

Department of Physics, Clarendon Laboratory, University of Oxford, UK

Victorino FRANCO
Universidad de Sevilla, Spain

Olivier ISNARD
Institut Néel (CNRS - Univ. Grenoble Alpes), Grenoble, France

Radboud University, Nijmegen, The Netherlands

University of Science and Technology, Faculty of Physics and Applied Computer Science, Kraków, Poland

Invited members

Lucas Perez (Chair ESM 2023)
Madrid, Spain

Stuart Cavill (Chair ESM 2024)
York, United Kingdom

Past members

Laura HEYDERMAN (2015 - 2020)
PSI and ETH, Villigen/Zürich, Switzerland