EMA Editorial for May 2022

[ All news ] [ Previous ] [ Next ]


In this Editorial, Christian BACK, Officer for Awards, discloses results of the EMA 2022 Young Scientist Award and briefly introduces the awardee (Jan Masell).

Dear Colleagues and Friends of the European Magnetism Association,

It is our great pleasure to announce that the Young Scientist Award 2022 goes to Jan Masell for his ground-breaking theoretical studies on the stabilization, dynamics, and potential applications of topological magnetic textures and related novel transport phenomena, his innovative contributions to more efficient numerical micromagnetics, and his continuous collaboration with experimentalists on a broad international level.

Jan Masell currently holds a Humboldt Feodor Lynen Return fellowship at KIT TFP, Karlsruhe, Germany and RIKEN CEMS, Japan. He has received his PhD in 2018 from the Universität zu Köln, Köln, Germany for his work on “Magnetic Skyrmions and Topological Domain Walls”. Subsequently, he joined the Nagaosa group at RIKEN, CEMS, Japan on a Humboldt foundation scholarship. His research focuses on the theoretical description of magnetization in non-collinear magnetic phases as well as magnetization dynamics in non-trivial magnetic textures. Using micromagnetic simulations he describes transport phenomena in magnetic materials and develops novel concepts for spintronics devices.

We would like to deeply thank the community for the number of excellent nominations we have received.

Christian BACK, Officer for Awards

[ All news ]