2022 EMA awards: results

[ All news ] [ Previous ] [ Next ]


The EMA 2022 Young Scientist Award goes to Jan Masell

The call for 2022 concerned only the Young Scientist Award. The nominations have been reviewed by a committee chosen among the General Council of EMA and chaired by Christian Back, the Officer for honors and awards.

The Young Scientist Award 2022

The Young Scientist Award goes to Jan Masell for his ground-breaking theoretical studies on the stabilization, dynamics, and potential applications of topological magnetic textures and related novel transport phenomena, his innovative contributions to more efficient numerical micromagnetics, and his continuous collaboration with experimentalists on a broad international level.

Jan Masell currently holds a Humboldt Feodor Lynen Return fellowship at KIT TFP, Karlsruhe, Germany and RIKEN CEMS, Japan. He has received his PhD in 2018 from the Universität zu Köln, Köln, Germany for his work on “Magnetic Skyrmions and Topological Domain Walls”. Subsequently, he has joined the Nagaosa group at RIKEN, CEMS, Japan on a Humboldt foundation scholarship.

His research focuses on the theoretical description of the magnetization in non-collinear magnetic phases as well as magnetization dynamics in non-trivial magnetic textures. Using micromagnetic simulations he describes transport phenomena in magnetic materials and develops novel concepts for spintronics devices.

More information: https://sites.google.com/view/janmasell

[ All news ]