ESM2019: Experimental techniques

[ All news ] [ Previous ] [ Next ]


2019 European School on Magnetism to be held Sep 2-13, 2019, Brno, Czech Republic

As announced in the Spring, from now on the European School on Magnetism is held every year, except those years when the Summer School of the IEEE Magnetics Society is held in Europe.

In 2019 we have a pleasure to be hosted in Brno (Czech Republic) from Sep 2nd to Sep 13th.The School is chaired by Michal Urbánek and co-organized by Vojtěch Uhlíř, under the auspices of the Brno University of Technology and the Central European Institute of Technology.

Brno is the second largest city in the Czech Republic, the seat of the judicial authority of the Czech Republic and important administrative, cultural, industrial and science center. It hosts 5 public, 1 state and 7 private universities, several Institutes of the Czech Academy of Sciences and research centres. Brno can be reached via its international airport, there is also a good connection from Vienna and Prague airports.

Like previous editions of ESM, the 2019 School aims at providing a thorough understanding of magnetism based on a broad series of fundamental lectures, while offering the latest insights into up-to-date aspects of magnetism with lectures focusing on a special topic. The topic covered in 2019 is Experimental techniques. This covers from the fundamentals phenomena underlying experimental techniques, to their implementation and data analysis, including hands-on practicals. The School will be an opportunity for young scientists from the two fields, to meet, share their expertise and network.

The School is addressed at young scientists, mainly PhD students and post-docs, both experimentalists and theoreticians. It will consist of an eleven-day training of lectures and practicals provided by prominent scientists active in today's research, interactive question sessions, access to a library of magnetism-related books, and industrial contributions. The detailed program will be disclosed in Spring 2018, and the lecturers by the Summer 2018. Request for participation will be launched in the Spring 2019.

[ All news ]