

INNOMAG Master and Ph.D. Thesis prizes 2020

The Advisory Board ("Arbeitsgemeinschaft Magnetismus (AGM)" of the Magnetism Section of the German Physical Society (DPG) announces the INNOMAG e.V. master prize (500 €) and a dissertation prize (1000 €), which will be awarded at the spring meeting of the condensed matter section of the DPG, March 15 -20, 2020 in Dresden.

The aim of the prizes is to recognize outstanding research in the context of a master thesis or a doctoral thesis and its excellent verbal and written communication. Nominations can be made for scientifically outstanding master theses or dissertations in the field of magnetism in theory, experiment and/or applications, which were completed at a German university in 2019. The supervisor of the dissertation is entitled to nominate, with the exception of the members of the award committee.

Selection procedure:

A prize committee appointed by the AG Magnetismus determines the winner among the entries for the master prize. The winner will be invited to a presentation at the DPG meeting. For the dissertation prize, the prize committee can select up to four finalists, who will give a presentation and defend their work at the symposium "Magnetism Prize" of the DGP Spring meeting, March 15-20, 2020 in Dresden. Immediately after this symposium, the prize winner is selected and announced.

The prize money is 500 EUR for the master prize and 1,000 EUR for the dissertation prize.

The complete nomination must include:

- 1. a justification of the nomination (1 page DIN A4 max.) by the supervisor giving an explanation why the nominated work is outstanding scientifically.
- 2. a one-page CV of the nominee
- 3. Doctoral (for dissertation prize) or master graduation certificate with grade
- 4. -a summary of the content of the work of max. 2 pages
- 5. -an abstract in DPG conference style for announcement in the conference proceedings
- 6. -only for the dissertation prize: a publication list of the nominee

Please send the documents by December 20, 2019 in a single pdf file to the chairman of the AG Magnetismus, Prof. Dr. Michael Farle (farle@uni-due.de), keyword "INNOMAG-Prize Master" or "INNOMAG-Prize Dissertation".