Role & regulations of the IAC of JEMS Version: 8 May 2024



## ROLE & REGULATIONS OF THE INTERNATIONAL ADVISORY COMMITTEE OF JEMS

Approved by the IAC - May 2024

1. The International Advisory Committee (IAC) has the mission to oversee, develop and promote the Joint European Magnetic Symposia (JEMS), as a means for developing research in magnetism and its applications in Europe.

The main functions of the committee are to

- select the venue of JEMS conferences based on bids by potential organizers,
- advise the General Chair(s) of JEMS on the constitution of the Organization, Programme and Publication Committees,
- advise the Programme Co-Chairs on the final list of Symposia topics,
- oversee the finances of JEMS, together with the Treasurer of the European Magnetism Association (EMA).
- 2. The IAC consists of at least 18, and no more than 24 members.
- 2.1 Members serve a 6-year term.
- 2.2 One third of the members retire from the IAC every two years.
- 2.3 At least 75% of the IAC represent the magnetism community based in Europe. No more than 25% may be based outside Europe.
- 3. A meeting of the IAC is organized annually. The meeting is organized on-site during JEMS, with the option for members to join remotely. In years without JEMS, *e.g.*, when Intermag or ICM take place in Europe, the meeting may be in hybrid format (on-site at the sister event + virtual) or fully virtual format.
- 4. The IAC elects a Vice-President whose term runs for two years. The Vice-President is elected every four years.
- 4.1 The Vice-President should be a member of the IAC or have served as General Chair of a JEMS Conference.
- 4.2 Nominations (including self-nominations) for Vice-President may be made by any member of the IAC and should be sent, together with a brief motivation, to the IAC President at least one month before the election.
- 4.3 The election of the Vice-President takes place during the annual meeting of the IAC. The members vote for the candidates in their order of choice. The Vice-President is elected by the system of instant-runoff voting. The current President has a casting vote in the event of a tie. The choice of Vice-President has to be approved by the President of EMA within 1 month of the election.
- 4.4 At the end of the two-year term, the Vice-President automatically becomes President of the IAC of JEMS, and thus an officer of the Executive Board (EB) of EMA, for a period of four years.
- 4.5 The outgoing President will remain in the IAC as Past President for two years, to serve as an advisor to the current President, until the election of a new Vice-President.



- 5. New committee members are elected during the annual IAC meeting.
- 5.1 The list of candidates is drawn from an open call to the magnetism community for nominations, including self-nominations and nominations from current members of the IAC. Nomination forms should be sent to the President of the IAC (with the Vice-President / Past-President in copy) at least one month before the election. The members of the IAC then vote for the candidates in order of their choice. Election is by single transferable vote. In case of non-participation in the meeting, IAC members can send their votes to the President (with the Vice-President / Past-President in copy) prior to the meeting. The President has a casting vote in the event of a tie.
- 5.2 Members of the IAC who miss two consecutive meetings and fail to otherwise engage with the President are considered to have resigned from the IAC and will be informed by the President about the termination of their term.
- 5.3 No member of the IAC may serve consecutive 6-year terms. The President may not serve consecutive 4-year terms.
- 6. A Finance Committee comprising the President and the Vice-President/Past-President of the IAC, together with the Treasurer of the European Magnetism Association (EMA), will have oversight of the JEMS budget.
- 6.1 The initial conference budget, submitted in the bid, has to be approved by the IAC.
- 6.2 The Finance Committee will report any significant changes in the budget to the IAC and EMA President.